Australian Statistics Advisory Council


The Australian Bureau of Statistics Act (1975) provides that the Australian Statistics Advisory Council (ASAC) shall consist of a part-time Chairperson, the Australian Statistician (ex officio), and between ten and twenty-two part-time members, including a senior official from each State and Territory nominated by the Premier or Chief Minister. The Chairperson and members are appointed by the responsible Minister for periods of five years and up to three years respectively, and are eligible for reappointment.

The Council represents a broad cross-section of perspectives, covering government, business, academia, and community interests. Council members are appointed for their ability to identify emerging issues and needs and to be able to assist in promoting greater coordination nationally. All state and territory governments are represented on ASAC.

The Australian Statistics Advisory Council and senior ABS staff at the meeting in Canberra on 14 February 2018
Membership as at 2 November 2018

Professor Gary Banks AO (Chairperson )
Mr David W. Kalisch, Australian Statistician (ex officio)
Mr David Byers, CO2CRC Limited
Dr Luci Ellis, Reserve Bank of Australia*
Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver (AM), The University of Sydney
Professor Abigail Payne, Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research
Mr Stephen Walters, New South Wales Treasury**
Ms Amy Auster, Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance
Mr Antony Skinner, Queensland Treasury
Mr Alistair Jones, Western Australian Department of Treasury**
Mr Stuart Hocking, South Australian Department of Treasury and Finance**
Mr Anton Voss, Tasmanian Department of Treasury and Finance
Mr David Braines-Mead, Northern Territory Department of Treasury and Finance
Mr Stephen Miners, ACT Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate

* Dr Ellis' reappointment to the Council is in progress
** Impending State representative appointment